This Topic surrounding the ‘authenticity’ of ‘professional’ online profiles is one which on face value, a lot of students gleamed the same information. The discussion with other students did not change my opinions on the topic, mainly because my views are rather strong, but did enable me to see ideas from differing viewpoints. However, credit has to go to Joe, whose idea that no matter what your profession, and who sees your social media sites, a certain base level of professionalism should be expected. His stress on the idea of a ‘personal brand’ answered my questions and manipulated my thoughts surrounding ‘personal levels of filtering’. Despite not agreeing entirely with Joe, it was useful to step back and contemplate his thought process and the reasoning behind such, and in doing so, is easy to see how he came to his conclusions.

Zac provided a more personal experience of developing an authentic professional online profile. I liked applying Joe’s analysis of ‘personal filtering’ to Zac’s work and questioned him about such. His responses, coupled with my own opinion and Joe’s ideas helped me develop this idea of a ‘slider scale’. One which everyone chooses how ‘professional’ or ‘social’ their pages are, when incorporating multiple factors; such as ‘job type applied for’, ‘audience’ and ‘potential repercussions’.

With this topic it is clear that I had strong opinions regarding what I personally thought was the best route to take. However, discussion with my peers enabled me to see beyond my own ideology and instead create, perhaps, a more universally acceptable theory behind a person’s choices when ‘professionalizing’ their ‘social’ realm. This topic has been the most engaging so far. An amalgamation of imperative relevance and individual preference made a lot of the blog posts very interesting reads. A combination which I hope continues throughout the modules blogging tasks!

Comments:

https://joeburkeblogs.wordpress.com/2016/11/11/are-you-getting-in-the-way-of-you/#respond

https://zacwhu.wordpress.com/2016/11/13/whats-this-all-about-then-topic-3-building-a-professional-digital-profile/#respond

 

 

